up to Deadball Era Resources

Hall of Fame members
from the Deadball Era

© Steve Constantelos, 2001

This is my rather subjective list of HOFers who played a significant portion of their careers in the Deadball Era or managed, executed, umpired, etc. in the Era. I listed each person only once, although they may have qualified in a couple of categories (e.g., Frank Chance). I know I have missed execs and umpires and Negro League players. Anyone who can help me fill out the roster would be doing me a great service!

    Name      Induction Date

First Basemen
    George Sisler	1939 
    Jake Beckley	1971

Second Basemen
    Nap Lajoie		1937
    Eddie Collins	1938
    Rogers Hornsby	1942
    Johnny Evers	1946

    Honus Wagner	1936
    Joe Tinker		1946
    Bobby Wallace	1953
    Rabbit Maranville	1954
    Dave Bancroft	1971
    George Davis	1998

Third Basemen
    Jimmy Collins	1945
    Home Run Baker	1955

    Roger Bresnahan	1945
    Ray Schalk		1955

    Ty Cobb		1936
    Babe Ruth		1936 (Deadball pitcher predominantly)
    Tris Speaker	1937
    Willie Keeler	1939
    Fred Clarke		1945 (also as Deadball manager)
    Sam Crawford	1957
    Zack Wheat		1959
    Max Carey		1961
    Eddie Roush		1962
    Elmer Flick		1963
    Harry Hooper	1971
    Joe Kelley		1971

    Walter Johnson	1936
    Christy Mathewson	1936
    Cy Young		1937
    Pete Alexander	1938
    Jack Chesbro	1946
    Joe McGinnity	1946
    Eddie Plank		1946
    Rube Waddell	1946
    Ed Walsh		1946
    Mordecai Brown	1949
    Chief Bender	1953
    Eppa Rixey		1963
    Red Faber		1964
    Burleigh Grimes	1964
    Stan Coveleski	1969
    Rube Marquard	1971
    Addie Joss		1978
    Vic Willis		1995

    Connie Mack		1937
    John McGraw		1937
    Hugh Jennings	1945 
    Wilbert Robinson	1945
    Frank Chance	1946 (also a formidable 1B)
    Clark Griffith	1946 
    Miller Huggins	1964 (his 2B playing stats are also impressive)
    Ned Hanlon		1996
    Frank Selee		1999

Negro Leagues
    Rube Foster         1981 P/MGR/exec.1898-1926
    John Henry Lloyd    1977 SS
    Smokey Joe Williams 1999 P

    Ban Johnson		1937
    Charlie Comiskey	1938
    Ed Barrow		1953

    Tom Connolly	1953
    Bill Klem		1953
    Billy Evans		1973

Notes by the web editor.

Writers? Broadcasters? Somewhere we should note any Deadball Era baseball writers who received the Ford Frick award. Broadcasters are a later story. --Ed.

Classification: what is subjective? The Hall of Fame classifies members as Players, Managers, etc. Steve differs with some official classifications (Frank Chance, Clark Griffith, Hugh Jennings), mainly because of his focus on the Deadball Era. The Hall does not classify by playing position. Many published sources do so and there is little or no disagreement among them, but a few players played a different position in the Deadball Era (Babe Ruth, Rogers Hornsby). The Hall does not classify by epoch. Steve tends to be inclusive. --Ed.

Visit Hall of Fame members from 19th Century Base Ball.

Last modified: 2003-06-17 (clarify authorship of notes)
Paul Wendt
© Society for American Baseball Research, 2001, 2003